Welcome to Your Digital Path to Success

A Jeff Donahue/Hoeffer or Matthew Donahue Grant Scam

03 Mar

That’s right, I couldn’t pick out a title because I wasn’t sure where to begin. I’m sure you’ve seen it here or there over the past several months. Even in Google or Yahoo! Despite it being known to the FTC and BBB some advertising sites still allow these ads to display. It’s also known as the free stimulus check scam.

Heck, here’s one from Yahoo’s IM from this morning:

Yahoo IM Supporting Jeff/Mathew Donahue's Grant Scam

Yahoo IM Supporting Jeff/Mathew Donahue’s Grant Scam

The reason I couldn’t pick out a name is because of the different names used even though the same picture is utilized. Unfortunately, I’m more than willing to bet the pictures were illegally used and isn’t really the actual person. I’m sure this poor chap is wrongfully being pointed out in public and humiliated.

In case you haven’t seen it or understand why it’s a scam, let me point out some photo-editing flaws:

Matthew Donahues Fake Grant Check

Matthew Donahue’s Fake Grant Check

Here’s another check with a different amount from another site under a different name:

Jeffrey Donahues Fake Grant Check

Jeffrey Donahue’s Fake Grant Check

Now, I figured having both checks here will help you determine why these free grant checks/money are fake. It’s obvious that the check numbers are the same even though the amounts are different. Not only that, a lot of the content are blurred out. The name of each check is so obvious and I hope you see that now if you didn’t before. There’s a lot of things wrong with these images, but one other thing is the date the check was issued. These are such obvious things but people get scammed everyday by these fake programs.

Alright, check this out, if you go to JeffsGrant.com (WARNING! DO NOT GO TO THAT SITE. It got hacked and now displays a really annoying pornographic clip that won’t allow you to close it unless you used your task manager to end it. I don’t know if this is on any other site, but just take my word for it and avoid all of the domains I mention as the scam sites), you’ll see this on the home page:

This is the about info on Jeffrey Donahue

This is the about info on Jeffrey Donahue

Well, if you go to JeffsGrantBlog.com, you’ll see on this on the home page:

Jeff Hoeffers about me info.

Jeff Hoeffer’s about info.

Finally, if you go to MattsGrantBlog.com, you’ll see this on the home page:

The about info on Matthew Donahue.

The about info on Matthew Donahue.

There’s more scam sites using this familiar layout, but I’m not about to spend the time looking for them. If you think something is too good to be true, it just might be. Be sure to ALWAYS look at an image very closely. You’ll be able to tell whether it’s fake or the real deal.

Best of luck,
Kevin Lam

Kevin Lam

Kevin Lam is a self-taught internet marketer, web developer and traffic conversion expert that started since he was 17 in 2000. Even throughout his 5 years in the Navy, Kevin continued to hone his skills. Kevin now owns multiple digital companies including a Strategic, Digital Marketing Firm, a Sales Funnel Concierge Service, General Support Company and other digital products.


  1. Lee Cosgrove (WaW) | March 5, 2009 at 7:52 pm

    It’s almost comforting to see that some spammers are keeping old tactics alive 😀 It’s also comforting to see they’re still making it easy to spot how unprofessional their “work” is :-p

  2. Leon Horton | March 5, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    Hi Kevin,

    Thanks for pointing this out for everyone who may not have seen it.

    There is a trial period for a person to pay $1 for the info with a credit card and then be forced to cancel 3 separate subscriptions that are automatically attached to the request for the information.

    I hope this has been put out there soon enough to keep people from being scammed by that outfit.

    Thanks again and Peace,
    Leon Horton

  3. Albert Grande | March 5, 2009 at 9:40 pm

    Hey Kevin.
    Thanks for the lesson about scammers. I think its important to let people know about obvious frauds and hucksters.
    Your post is a Public Service Announcement!
    thanks, my friend.
    albert grande

  4. Kevin Lam | March 5, 2009 at 9:48 pm

    Thanks, guys. I actually saw something like this 4 months ago and the ad was on Facebook! I actually sent them a direct message saying that I knew they’re scamming people. I thought nothing of it after that until I saw another ad in my Yahoo! mail. It was pretty much the same ad I displayed up there with Obama, except it was a huge header. It peeked my interest just to see and sure enough, same old crap.

  5. Robert Nelson | March 5, 2009 at 9:54 pm

    Thanks Kevin, great public service

  6. stevieod | March 6, 2009 at 1:32 am

    How can we find out who is doing this? I would love to order up a B2 bomber to nuke whoever is behind this crap. What kind of world do we live in that tolerates this kind of rot? It’s time to get the NSA on this one!

    But Kevin, thanks for exposing this BS, we need to get these cockroaches gone now!

  7. Kevin Lam | March 6, 2009 at 8:15 am

    LOL, who wouldn’t want to know? Unfortunately, even if I dug in and found out the person who registered the domains and where they live, it just won’t matter. More than likely, they’re fake information. They’re already reported to the FTC and BBB.

    Actually, I do have a way of finding out exactly who they are – just gotta find out how they’re receiving their money. Just not worth my time since I’m sure the officials are on this.

  8. BinkyM | March 6, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    Good god, Kevin, get the URL for JeffsGrant dot com out of this post! It\’s been replaced with that stupid porn page you can\’t escape from, the one with \"You Spin Me Right Round Like a Record\" with the dialog boxes (if you insist on checking it out, remember that I warned you!). Don\’t tell anyone else to go there; just leave your screenshots here and tell folks what used to be there. Only you can prevent agony!

    (And to whoever hacked the site to keep people from getting scammed, can\’t you use your brain and put something REASONABLE there? That\’s not a whole heck of a lot better than the scam page. I suppose it doesn\’t hurt financially, but it hurts physically!)

  9. Kevin Lam | March 6, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    Well, that’s new. I haven’t looked in like 2 days. That’s also why I didn’t link to it. If people want to look, that’s up to them. I’ll at least provide a warning. Yeah, you would think they’d do something better than show porn. Whatever. Live and learn and then ignore.

  10. Lee Cosgrove (WaW) | March 17, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    Without getting too knee deep in politics, the sad truth is that porn is one of the most profitable topics on the internet, so if you come across anything illegal chances are it’ll be a scam…or porn.

    Just a sort of disclaimer… I don’t approve of nor partake in porn of any kind…illegal or legal…online or off. 😀

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *